Controlled Wood Club

MixedWood LLC

Implementation Support for FSC Controlled Wood

FSC NRA Region-specific resources

Southeast & Mississippi

This expansive area includes large parts of the 10 Coastal States from Delaware to Texas (including Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana), and a portion of southern Illinois to the lower Mississippi Valley (including Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, and Missouri).

NOTE: The extent of this region means that few companies procure wood from this whole area. Consider whether your company might avoid parts of this large region (and it’s Specified Risk subjects). Give us a call if you need help.

FSC-US Controlled Wood Regional Meeting

The Controlled Wood Regional Meeting addressing the Southeast & Mississippi Alluvial Valley Region was held in Atlanta, GA on July 31, 2018.

The Specified Risk subjects identified in the Southeast & Mississippi Region are quite extensive: forest conversion, two habitat types, four Critical Biodiversity Areas, and two Rare, Threatened, and/or Endangered species.  All nine are listed below, with links to detailed pages for each:


Forest Conversion – widespread

Native Longleaf Pine Systems


Late Successional Bottomland Hardwoods


Southern Appalachian CBA

Critical Biodiversity Area

Cape Fear Arch CBA

Critical Biodiversity Area

Central Florida CBA

Critical Biodiversity Area

Florida Panhandle CBA

Critical Biodiversity Area

Dusky Gopher Frog

Rare, Threatened, Endangered Species

Houston Toad

Rare, Threatened, Endangered Species

©MixedWood LLC 2022 All Rights Reserved